God's First Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow

Your Source of Daily Encouragement and Inspiration From God's Word

Just Thinking

on November 17, 2014

John 3:2 This man came to Jesus by night and said to him, “Rabbi, we know that you are a teacher come from God, for no one can do these signs that you do unless God is with him.”
3 Jesus answered him, “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless one is born again he cannot see the kingdom of God.”

Ever notice how Jesus always answered questions with questions? It’s interesting because he never just gave a direct answer. Jesus wanted people to think about what they were asking, and rather than spoon feed them, he left it to them to answer their own question. This is actually excellent teaching. When we teach the objective should be giving the tools to aid the learner in drawing the correct conclusion on their own.
I think a lot of people today would have been frustrated by this. We want what we want when we want it, no questions asked. But things truly worth having, almost never come easy. It’s important that we exercise our minds and expand our thoughts beyond basic equations. There’s so much more to life. Beyond our vision is a spiritual realm and beyond this life is eternity. We can easily neglect these truths and just keep on keeping on, but at the end of the day when one lives that way, what is the purpose of life? That’s the important question, why are we even here?

All knowing King, thank you for helping me find the answer to my purpose. Once, when living for myself, I had no real motivation, no sense of purpose. My direction always led me to dead ends. In you alone I have been blessed with life. There’s still a lot of unanswered questions, but none that I need to know. The secret things belong to you, but you have not hidden anything that can keep me from eternal purpose. Thank you for being my reason.

Leave a Reply

