God's First Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow

Your Source of Daily Encouragement and Inspiration From God's Word

Create in me a clean heart

on November 11, 2014

JOHN 2: 23 Now when he was in Jerusalem at the Passover Feast, many believed in his name when they saw the signs that he was doing.
24 But Jesus on his part did not entrust himself to them, because he knew all people
25 and needed no one to bear witness about man, for he himself knew what was in man.

This is a testimony to the deceitfulness of the heart. Our hearts are incurably wicked. Jesus knew this. Though the people believed in his signs and wonders, they did not truly believe in who he was. Their minds would quickly and easily be turned against him. He was aware that soon enough, many of these same people would be in the crowd that would shout passionately “Crucify Him, Crucify Him”.
I believe in Jesus Christ without a doubt, but sometimes when I reflect on my own actions and attitudes I have to wonder if I could have been part of that crowd. I’m not condemning myself, I’m examining my heart. It has many impurities. I know God is working to clean me up more and more, but I have to recognize and acknowledge my shortcomings if indeed I will repent of them.
I want to want Jesus more than all else. I want to want him, not his stuff. I want him to be sufficient for my contentment. Worldly treasures look to be enticing, but serve only momentary pleasure. Jesus satisfies for all eternity. My heart’s not perfect yet, but praise God he’s working on it.

Merciful Lord, I deserve nothing but your wrath, yet you pour your love upon me like rushing waters. I’m engulfed with your grace and compassion. You see my heart and you know me better than I know myself, and still you have redeemed me. How great it is to a saviour who willingly laid down his life. Will you teach me to lay down my life for you. May the sacrifice of trading in my desires for yours fulfill any emptiness I feel. You are really all I need. You are really enough. I thank you for you Lord, in Christ’s holy name, Amen

Leave a Reply

