God's First Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow

Your Source of Daily Encouragement and Inspiration From God's Word

Will I Follow?

on November 10, 2014

JOHN 1:50 Jesus answered him, “Because I said to you, ‘I saw you under the fig tree,’ do you believe? You will see greater things than these.”
51 And he said to him, “Truly, truly, I say to you, you will see heaven opened, and the angels of God ascending and descending on the Son of Man.”

I can’t imagine what it would have been like to live when Jesus was on the earth. In John 1, there are accounts of his first interactions with some of his disciples. It appears that it was easy for them to chose to follow him. Perhaps because they had always heard of this coming Messiah. However, so had all those people who didn’t believe. I can’t imagine what I would have done. Would I believe immediately and drop everything to follow him? Would I question his authenticity and investigate him like the Pharisees, drawing a conclusion he was not who he said? I really don’t know because I’ve witnessed things in my current life that clearly point to God’s glory, yet believing was a journey for me. And although I do believe in Christ now, my faith is often shaky at best. Yes, I believe in all Christ did, but that it has power to save me, to change me… I struggle daily just to accept that my acceptance from God is enough. I still try to please man and walk in pride rather than in humility.
Jesus told Nathanael that he would see much greater things, he would see the heavens open.  I wonder, if I saw the heavens open wide, would my faith be solidified. What will it take?!! The disciples laid down everything instantly and began to follow. At my first love of Christ I was willing to do the same, but that first love has become my seventh love or perhaps my thirtieth love. I live placing value in so many things before him that I’m not sure what place he holds. What is it going to take to get me back to that initial experience, that time when I lived in awe of him. It’s time to revisit the life of my Savior. It’s time for revival. Journey with me as I learn who my Lord is once again.

Blessed saviour of the world, you took on flesh and dwelt among your own without being recognized. You fellowshipped with the created beings you made. How awesome a thing for you to do. Though your light shone brightly many failed to see it. Father I know your light, but it’s currently dim and flickering, or perhaps it’s more likely not that your light is flickering, but that my eyes are failing me. Lord give me eyes wide open to see you in fullness of grace and of truth. Walk before me, clearing a way in the darkness and shining upon the path I will journey. You never give up on me Lord. Christ died for me, a wretched person, he gave me life. I thank you Lord and I will follow because you alone are the one true living God of whom I’ll worship. Through Jesus’ saving grace I pray. Amen

Leave a Reply

