God's First Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow

Your Source of Daily Encouragement and Inspiration From God's Word

Picking Up the Slack

on July 16, 2011

Twice in one week, Holla!  One of things I aim to do with this blog is offer encouragement to believers.  For this reason I aim to be honest with you.  I’m not afraid to share my struggles…I’ve struggled greatly this year with re-connecting with my first love, Jesus.  Don’t get me wrong, I love Him with a lot of my heart, parts of my mind and I think most of my soul.  The problem being, He asks for all of me.

So the main thing is I want all these other things in life…things that in no way compare to Him.  I’m not content is what I’m saying…I’m envious, I’m greedy and I’m ungrateful.  Seriously, lately I’m really convicted of my selfishness.

I’m not where I’d like to be in life, but I know God is with me. I KNOW this with all of my being.  I even feel His refinement.  I can clearly see that He’s in the process of doing something special with my life…and it’s not even that I don’t want what He’s doing.  My problem is that my flesh wants what the world tells me to desire more than what God has told me to desire. I’m pretty sure we’ve all been in this place at one time or another.

So here’s advice you’ve heard before, do what you know you should do, not what you feel like doing.  Pray hard.  Study the Word hard.  Talk about it a lot.  In the midst of selfishness, stop, acknowledge it, repent of it and do your business with God.  Like me, you may go through this process 20 or 30 times a day…but it’s worth it.

So, “Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord” Psalm 27:14

Standing still waiting on a will

Already here in bits and pieces

Mismatched as they may seem

Reality has spoken

Your great love is no small token

Though perfection’s yet to come

Enough surrounds me to know the One

The only saving Son

Has come and left with me a friend

Day to day I’m guided, my own will provided

A needed helping hand

That’ll see this place I stand

Waiting on a day where hope is no longer needed

Nor the  joy that had once preceeded

For that day happiness becomes permanent

Beyond knowledge feelings become real

No more deceit in the heart

Nor in any other part

When perfection comes to destroy the enemy inside of me

I anxiously await that day

So I’m standing still

Waiting for your will to take over all of me

Leave a Reply

