God's First Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow

Your Source of Daily Encouragement and Inspiration From God's Word

Oh but I love you, I love you, I love you…

on June 16, 2011

…There’s something bout your love, that makes me weak and knocks me off my feet.

“Fret not yourself because of evildoers; be not envious of wrongdoers” Can you say BAM! Hello, did you get that, cause it sure was a kick in the gut for me.  So, lately as I spend my days dwelling on the fact that I’m not only jobless, but manless, childless, social lifeless and apparently faithless too.  Didn’t see that one coming did ya?  I’m doing devos today and the verse is Psalm 37:4, you know, the ever famous delight yourself in the Lord.  Well, in context, that verse is not what the average Christian thinks it to be.  Above is verse one of that Psalm.  So I sit each day and look and think about all my friends who have kids, but aren’t married, are married, but not committed believers, have boyfriends who aren’t Christian, have dedicated their lives to work rather than God, are hitting the clubs and drining, grinding and all kinds of wrongness..I think about them and I’m envious.  Hey, it’s the truth, ok.  I say, but God why can’t I, and why do they and I fret over evildoers.  I say God I wanna this, and maybe I’ll just that and I’m envious of wrongdoers.  You wanna tell me you’ve never been here?  I’ll leave that between you and your conscious.

“For they will soon fade like the grass and wither like the green herb.”  Whoa there now, what’s that all about.  Imagine, God wants me to think in an eternal perspective.  Humph, I must say that is an idea.  God actually is reminding me that He has given me eternity….you know, that timeless, beyond forever thing where we never die, but llive and reign with Christ Himself for always.  He actually wants me to keep that in mind when I’m pondering my life and my position.  Crazy…crazy cool that is.  Now, there’s perspective.  And God’s way wins again!  Geesh sometimes, I read scripture and I honestly feel so unintelligent when I’m reminded of whose I am and what’s been done for me, because how easily I forget.  You ever felt that way?

“Trust in the Lord and do good;  dwell in the land and befriend faithfulness.”  Here it is, here it is.  Quit looking at them wrongdoers and wanting what they got and trust God….TRUST GOD.  You know what trusting God leads to…imagine this…it leads to doing good. HA, who’d a thought.  Just trust Him, He brought us this far and He said He’d complete the work He started in us.  Remember God doesn’t lie, nor does He break His promises.  So there it is, befriend faithfulness.  Quit lookin at the other guy and have faith that what is good will ultimately prevail, leaving the evil to fade and wither away.

Now the verse we’ve all been waiting for, in all it’s beautiful splendor, “Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart”  Before I dig into that, catch the next verse too, “Commit your ways to the Lord; trust in Him and He will act.”  Yay!  A promise.  When we put it all together, our primary task is to be satisfied with who we are in the Lord.  The fact that He is our sovereign King should bring us delight and  contentment.  It should fill our hearts completely.  Only then will our deceitful hearts be filled by His desires for our lives, you know, the godly, good ones and then He will give us those desires.  So we commit to Him.  We trust in Him and He acts on our behalf, in our best interest, in His glory.  I don’t know about you, but I feel the need to get real humble and repent right about now.

Sweet, sweet, glorious Father of all creation, I bow my heart before you.  Giver of breathe, taker of death how I could ever look to any way but yours, oh God I beg of you forgiveness.  How many times I’ll travel this forsaken path, putting the world and my fleshly desires before my delight in you.  Forgive me for losing sight of eternity and of your promises.  Lord God make straight my paths that I may honor you with my heart and hence live a life commited to you.  May my thought and my actions display contentment and trust in your Holy and mighty Word.  May my desires be those desire that you would have for me.  Once a captive to sin and evil and wrongdoing, you Lord God set me free to sin no more.  I praise you and I lift a grateful heart.  Cleanse me of envy and make me pure oh God.  May faithfulness be my best friend.  Jesus Christ in heaven, Holy Spirit in me, be my everything.  I love you and I pray these things in humility, Amen.

Leave a Reply

