God's First Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow

Your Source of Daily Encouragement and Inspiration From God's Word

All i need, not want

on April 19, 2011

9 Be careful, however, that the exercise of your rights does not become a stumbling block to the weak. 10 For if someone with a weak conscience sees you, with all your knowledge, eating in an idol’s temple, won’t that person be emboldened to eat what is sacrificed to idols? 11 So this weak brother or sister, for whom Christ died, is destroyed by your knowledge.12 When you sin against them in this way and wound their weak conscience, you sin against Christ. 13 Therefore, if what I eat causes my brother or sister to fall into sin, I will never eat meat again, so that I will not cause them to fall. 1 COR 8

What wisdom.  One thing really stood out to me this morning.  Verse 13 says “if what I eat causes my brother or sister to fall into sin, I will NEVER eat meat again”. Wow, that’s really, truly deep.  To refrain from something forever and always, not cause you must, but cause you choose to so that someone else won’t fall.  That’s called sacrifice and that’s what true love is.  Once again, humbled by the Word.

Blessed Father, Lord thank you for your sacrifice, for your profound love, unlike any other.  Thank you that you are not a God who simply sets rules, but one who walked the talk you talk.  Lord you in yourself were our example.  Praises to our Lord Jesus Christ who modeled obedience in perfection as 100% man for us to see.  Father God may I take not for granted the blessings and grace and freedoms which you have given me, but may I approach every decision and opportunity with wisdom knowing that as your temple each action I take represents you.  With this in mind Lord, help me to always keep in mind that someone, somewhere may be looking at me to see you so that I can remember that what I do is not simply about what pleases me, but about what honors you.  May my choices be unselfishly motived, but keep in heart my weaker brothers and sisters, and may I be an encouragement and an example to them.  Thank you for your Holy Spirit which equips for such decisions.  Your grace is sufficient for me and your provision is all I need.  Bless your name on high.  Amen

Leave a Reply

