God's First Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow

Your Source of Daily Encouragement and Inspiration From God's Word

A grieviant heart

on April 9, 2011

The Spirit searches all things, even the deep things of God.11 For who knows a person’s thoughts except their own spirit within them? In the same way no one knows the thoughts of God except the Spirit of God. 12 What we have received is not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit who is from God, so that we may understand what God has freely given us. 13This is what we speak, not in words taught us by human wisdom but in words taught by the Spirit, explaining spiritual realities with Spirit-taught words.[c] 14 The person without the Spirit does not accept the things that come from the Spirit of God but considers them foolishness, and cannot understand them because they are discerned only through the Spirit. 15The person with the Spirit makes judgments about all things, but such a person is not subject to merely human judgments, 16 for,

“Who has known the mind of the Lord
so as to instruct him?”[d]

But we have the mind of Christ.  1 COR 2

This chapter begins with Paul explaining that he came not with eloquant words or man’s wisdom, but solely with the Spirit of God in him that people would see God and not him when he spoke.

My Spirit is grieved.  My heart is heavily burdened.  Last night I lay in my bed in tears, not because I don’t trust God…I trust Him completely, but because I thought of the state of the evangelical church and the amount of subtle deceit that has crept in.  It hurts because many are led astray and it’s often so hard to get them back on the right track.

I’m in the process of graduating bible college this month.  From day one I have maintained that God did not place me in bible college primarily for the gaining of knowledge, but more so to build my character.  You see I know that before I knew Christ I had no spiritual wisdom.  I knew that without understanding scripture because when i would attempt to read it, it was gibresh to me.  However upon accepting Christ I could pick up a bible and it was completely clear.

We make the mistake of thinking one must go to a school of theology to learn how to be a preacher.  I’m sorry, but friends that isn’t biblical.  That’s worldly and lazy.  We’ve set up this world model of church because we don’t disciple.  Discipling takes a lot of effort and sacrifice and pastors and elders are too “busy” to do it.  The biblical model sees potential leaders within a congregation and pulls them alongside the current leaders to gain hands on knowledge, wisdom and training.  The world model sends those who desire to bible college to be book trained in a classroom and then go a job hunt where people who don’t know them personally make judgements as to whether they may be suitable to come in and led the flock.  Can you spot any dangers here?

In the biblical model men are chosen by God, affirmed by those already in the minitsry and called out by them.  In the world model men decide for themselves and make fancy resumes and compete for a position.  They’re judged by worldly measures and standards of education and experience which mean absolutely nothing to God.  In scripture God chose the humble, the weak, the unwise, the lest expected to do his work and I believe that he does the same today.  Please don’t take this us me being prideful.  Believe me I am fully aware that Christ is all I have to boast in.  You see, I am not an eloquant speaker. I don’t have a dynamic personality.  I didn’t make the honor roll.  All my life I’ve run from the spotlight and especially from public speaking.  Yet, I get excited when I study the Word.  My heart jumps and stirs with excitement when I prepare a sermon because I don’t know everything, but when I learn something new about my God, I’m on fire to share it and scream it from the mountain tops.  I’ll never claim to be the best or most “qualified” at what I do.  I only have the Spirit of God lending me wisdom and discernment to guide my understanding and my teaching.  For those who think that man can add to that…what can I say, but that you’ve been decieved.  I’m not saying that education and experience aren’t good things, but I am saying that when they become more significant to us than God and his Spirit and his calling…we have lost faith in his ability and put our trust in ours.  That grieves me and it frightens me.

God called me out of a wayward life.  He turned my whole world on it’s head.  He gave me a passion for him like none I’ve ever experienced.  I only pray that the fire within me never dulls.  I pray that He does what He needs to do to keep me dependant on him alone. We’ve moved away from the gospel, but we don’t even realize it.  We live in fear of the truth, further than exalting it.  Decieved by worldly systems that convince that God’s word on it’s own isn’t enough to reach people.  We tear it apart, break it down, change it to suit our purposes…add to it…take away from it.  We’ll pay for this, unintentional as it may be.

Lord God, you spoke the universe into existance. Your mere words created us and all that surrounds us.  That is the power of your Word God.  Lord you left us with an inspired canon.  A living word, that possesses the power that spoke the universe into being.  Not only that but you put your very Spirit within us that we may access and understand this powerful word.  It is a tool, the tool we need to live a life pleasing to you.  Father God I acknowledge the power of your word, the gift of your Spirit and I praise you and thank you for them.  Lord you have given a message to be spoken that will shine light in the darkest valley, father may I be bold and completely relient on you to deliver this message with no fears, no hesitations and no subsitutions.  Lord God may I never lose sight of the cross, of your mercy, of your grace, of your power or of your calling on my life.  Lend me the wisdom and discernment to spot wolves in sheep’s clothing, to see the subtilty of the enemies lies and not fall into deception.  Father God I pray for the church, for the body of believers called to live set apart.  Persecution exists in so many countries and Christian soldiers are dying for your cause and your name is being elevated.  Father as the West becomes more and more secularized, as we stray further and further into complecency and heresy, Lord I beg of your discipline to bring us back in line.  Father help us to see that it was never meant to be easy.  May we be reminded of the cost you paid and that we called to also carry our crosses.  Test our faith as you need to Lord, but in doing so build us up and make us stronger.  We’ve been given a firm foundation, may we build upon it.  Father God I trust in you and wait on you and I thank you.  All praises to your name.  Hallejuah, hallejuah. Amen

 

Leave a Reply

