God's First Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow

Your Source of Daily Encouragement and Inspiration From God's Word

In all things we praise you

on April 4, 2011

Instead, be filled with the Spirit, 19speaking to one another with psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit. Sing and make music from your heart to the Lord, 20 always giving thanks to God the Father for everything, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.

What does this even mean, I can’t say for sure.  But what it makes me think of is how Christians interact with others.  I think of Chris Huertz of Word Made Flesh saying how when you’re passionate about something, you’re gonna talk about it.  Meaning conversation about that thing or person will not be forced, but a natural occurance.  How passionate are we about Christ.  We speak of “doing” outreach and evangelism, but if we merely loved with a compassionate and empathetic heart, but in that spoke with people, two things would likely happen, 1) they would ask us where our joy came from and 2)even if they didn’t ask, we would naturally share about it because we’d be so passionate that we would always thank the Lord in everything.  Just a thought.

To the Lord of the universe and the heavens who answers prayers of individuals, Father I pray.  I thank you for the intimacy we share and the joy that you give.  I thank you for the hope you lend in an imperfect, evil world.  Lord I am able to look to you in all things and no without a doubt that ultimately I will be ok.  I thank you for that blessed assurance.  Father open my eyes, my ears, my heart and my mouth that I may see you in all things, hear your voice of reason and wisdom, feel your pains and your joys and speak your peace, hope, love and will to all I encounter.  Even in the simplest words to the simplest minds father you are understood, accepted and followed.  Lord of all I thank you for who you are.  AMEN


Leave a comment