God's First Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow

Your Source of Daily Encouragement and Inspiration From God's Word

More than amazing

on April 1, 2011

Consequently, you are no longer foreigners and strangers, but fellow citizens with God’s people and also members of his household, 20 built on the foundation of the apostles and prophets, with Christ Jesus himself as the chief cornerstone. 21 In him the whole building is joined together and rises to become a holy temple in the Lord. 22 And in him you too are being built together to become a dwelling in which God lives by his Spirit. Ephesians 2

Yesterday we had a bit of a community hall chapel.  Topic was outreach.  It made me think.  In the organzation(which differs from the body) of the church we have all these groups…outreach, missions, hospitality etc…they’re not biblical, but what they are is a way for man to make his walk with Christ easier…perhaps easier than it should be.  I’m a bit sad and a little mad about that because I feel they give us excuses to not BE the Christians Christ intended us to be.  We section of our faith, I’ll use this here, I’ll use that there.  Should we not fully encompass the likeness of Christ.  I mean, no we’re not perfect, but is that not what we strive for.  Should I be able to say, well I don’t serve on hospitality because that’s not my gift or should I say I need to work on being more hospitable.  This is my personal opinion, I haven’t studied or researched any thing here.  However, I feel like we do new believers an injustice when they come on board ready and willing to do anything and everything to live for Christ and we show them this half butted effort of compartmentalized faith.  I think outreach, missions, hospitality, evangelism, compassion, love all should be a part of being Christian.  If you lack, pray to God and practice makes almost perfect.  I don’t want to be a Christian when and where I choose to be, I want to be all in…I know that what God desires.

Heavenly Father, you sent your son not to save me, but to change me, to give me a new direction in life…to give me life.  But Lord it is your desire that Christ be Lord over my life, that he leads my paths and reigns in my heart.  Lord you wish me to conform to His likeness.  I confess I have not even been trying to because as usual I’ve been caught up trying to please me.  Holy Spirit, the power residing witin me, unleash your power throughout my life, shape me, give me understanding, discernment and wisdom to walk the truly narrow path.  Father bless me with your heart, your love, your mercy, your grace to the fullest compacity of which I’m able.  Lord Jesus be my guide, my role model so to speak, that it may be you life I shape my life after.  When I sin, my Lord heal my woes, help me change and move away from the godly.  For you are mine and I am yours and in this I am beyond blessed and entirely grateful.  I love you Lord more than in mere words, but with my life.  Thanks be to the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit who reign forever, AMEN

Leave a Reply

