God's First Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow

Your Source of Daily Encouragement and Inspiration From God's Word

World Bad, God Good

on August 7, 2010

1 Corinthians 3:18-20 (New International Version)

18Do not deceive yourselves. If any one of you thinks he is wise by the standards of this age, he should become a “fool” so that he may become wise. 19For the wisdom of this world is foolishness in God’s sight. As it is written: “He catches the wise in their craftiness”[a]; 20and again, “The Lord knows that the thoughts of the wise are futile.”

Anyone feel stupid…come on, at least just a little wee bit.  I sure as heck did.  You know day to day I walk around not necessarily thinking I know it all, but I feel pretty wise.  You know wise, not smart, but I got some sense.  I read this and it’s like maybe not chica.  Think again.  See the problem is that all too often, my world sense interferes with my God sense.  i’m looking at myself and saying are you really living for God, I mean truly and honestly…nope, not so much.  I live for me, by my standard.  I heard Joyce Meyer say something interesting, “if you stopped trying to impress people so much you may actually be able to love them.”  Dag it man, it’s so true.  I am so self conscious.  Listen, I ain’t perfect, that’s a fact, but who cares about me?  It’s Christ in me that counts and he is perfect.  I am so ready to die, I mean really die and allow the Spirit of God within me to live, love and shine.  That’s all I got.  World bad, God good.  It gets no simplier than that.

Leave a Reply

