God's First Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow

Your Source of Daily Encouragement and Inspiration From God's Word

to let or to go…

on June 12, 2010

I loved you for the heart of you

For the essence of who you are

I thought that love could never be diminished

Not by pride or circumstance

I thought that love was pure

It wasn’t the intense way you’d look in my eyes

It wasn’t your nervous grin when you tried to read my mind

Not the sweetness of your kind words

Not even your generosity or your charm

Just your heart, that’s all it took

It gave me a view inside the man

It gave me a peace that seemed so real

Seemed so real…

Can’t stop loving your heart

But don’t wanna love you

Can’t keep holding on

Don’t wanna let go

There’ll never be another you

Not your heart

I can search the world and find a charming character

I can find sweet words…but I can’t find you

I love you for the heart of you

For the essence of who you are

Which makes it so hard to say goodbye…

“If you love something, let it go. If it comes back to you, its yours forever. If it doesn’t, then it was never meant to be.”


Leave a comment