God's First Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow

Your Source of Daily Encouragement and Inspiration From God's Word

Things That Make You Go Hmmm…

on June 10, 2010

Well, after 40 years reign King David has passed on.  Some of his last words to his son Solomon were for him to obey God’s word.  When’s the last time you shared that wisdom with your child(ren) or with any child for that matter? Speaking of wisdom, this is what Solomon was known for.  In a dream he was given the opportunity to ask God for absolutely anything and he asked for the discernment to know right from wrong.  Can you even imagine?  I think that’s superb.  I mean, anything and he asked for discernment.  Now I don’t know about you, but for me I think as a Christian discernment is like the most valuable gift one can be given. I mean it’s foundational, yet so many of us lack it or have it only in a very small measure.  God was happy, like totally pleased with Solomon because he didn’t ask for riches or long life or death to his enemies. So here I am thinking to myself, how many things have I asked of God.  I mean really, so much in a lifetime we ask him to give us, but how often are they His desires.  Yeah, yeah it isn’t good for a man to be alone, be fruitful and multiple and all that good stuff, but when we wanna get married or have children or be rich or whatever, how often is it for the primary desire or God and not “me”?  Like never if we’re really honest with ourselves.  I was speaking with my co-worker the other day…yes Paolo, you’ve made the blog once more…I don’t know, it’s crazy when we stop and think about our Christian lives, not our lives and Christianity, but our Christian lives as a whole…you know I am Christian, not I am Jamila, I do Christianity, but I am Christian.  Crazy because we act like it’s all about us, eh.  it’s like God saved me so that I could be free, well yes to an extent, but more so God saved you so that he would be glorified.  Old news right?  Why am I talking about this again.  Well because I still haven’t gotten it and I doubt whether many of you have either.  It’s so draining, eh.  Trying everyday to live this “faith” out.  Ok, I’m not saying my faith isn’t real, I definitely know for sure Jesus died for my salvation.  But am I living for him yet.  Day to day, I live for me.  I ask God for comfort and safety and security…how often do I say “Lord whatever it takes, whatever it takes, please God use me in what ever way you need to in order for your name to be lifted high”.  I say it once in a blue moon, in a moment of high spirituality and then I come down…quickly, move on the next, which is always ME, not Him, not God…ME.  I don’t like it.  I don’t like it.  I’m not very sure that anyone can ever whole heartedly chase after God in such a way, but I want to believe we can and I want to do it…I’ll admit, I don’t know how, but I kinda think prayer has something to do with it.  I think we should ask Him, ya know.  I think we should ask God for discernment which will lead us to awesomely righteous lives.  Hmmm…just ask?  That easy?

Leave a Reply

