God's First Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow

Your Source of Daily Encouragement and Inspiration From God's Word

Who Am I?

on May 18, 2010

Who am I?

Why do I think

I know,

When it’s who I see

I think

I am

If my reflection’s

my perception,

is it really true?

Image,

You see;

I see

Starring back at me

Is who I am

simply

woman;

Hairdo,

make up

and…

pretty smile

Nice clothes,

boyfriend,

and girly crew

Is she who I am,

or is there more?

Could I be

what’s underneath

my skin

You know,

all that I can not “see”

Is that me?

Good heart,

strong will

and faith in God

Character, charm,

compassion, love,

focus above

I do believe

That that is me

So when you see

this girl before;

Please seek to find

my heart

‘Cause that’s the part

that really makes

me

All that I am

Who am I?

I am his child

Your sister

and your friend

So when

I get lost

In worldly, common things

Please look beyond

And remind me

Of who I am

And what I need;

My Saviour inside me

PSALM 13

1 How long, O LORD ? Will you forget me forever?
How long will you hide your face from me?

2 How long must I wrestle with my thoughts
and every day have sorrow in my heart?
How long will my enemy triumph over me?

3 Look on me and answer, O LORD my God.
Give light to my eyes, or I will sleep in death;

4 my enemy will say, “I have overcome him,”
and my foes will rejoice when I fall.

5 But I trust in your unfailing love;
my heart rejoices in your salvation.

6 I will sing to the LORD,
for he has been good to me.

This used to be my athem psalm.  Only I’d leave out verses 5 and 6.  My life was very woe is me.  At times I find myself back there and I need a reminder that verses 5 and 6 not only exist, but are the most important ones.  My poem is a reflection of my struggles with perception and identity.  Too often I allow the world to dictate to me who I should be…I never quite cut it.  The word is my constant reminder that I’m more than that, that am God’s child.  Why I am sharing this…well, I know I’m not alone.  Sometimes you can run the race with the best of them, leading all the way, but at the end get winded and fall back.  Slow down, run at a steady pace and recognise the obstacles and hindrances along the course…do your very best to avoid them.  Some will catch you, but do not be discouraged for the Lord is with you and with Him you can not lose.  With out Him we always lose.  I’m not all high on God today, but I’m trying to remind myself of who I am and why I’m here and he’s the answer.

Father God what can I say, but just thank you for hearing my cries, for catching every tear.  Lord forgive me for seeking security in superficialities, for thinking more highly of me than you.  I pray God that I can seek and find your face each day and that’ll be what gives me strength to move forth and guides each thought and action.  I love you Lord, help me to feel your love is all I need.  I know it in my head, but may I feel it in my heart. You are everything.  Amen

Leave a Reply

