God's First Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow

Your Source of Daily Encouragement and Inspiration From God's Word

Do I Test God, Should I?

on April 24, 2010

Oh Israel how much I learn from you…how much I’m like you.

As Judges moves forth, Israel remains stubborn.  The play this back and forth game with God.  He ends a judge, they obey.  The judge dies, they disobey.  They don’t get, they don’t TRUST God.  With all he’s done.  Is this me?  Yet time and time and time and time, he rescues them…only after discipline, but none the less they return to his favour.  Like me?

You know I spoke with someone yesterday who really moved me.  He was sharing his testimony and he used this sweet analogy.  He said “we’re an empty vessel and the Spirit of God coms to live in us, but there are other spirits(fear, envy, unforgiveness, anger, depression etc) trying to get inside us too.  So we’re standing at the door, the doorkeeper so to speak.  Do we wait until they get inside and start brawling or knowing what they’re about, don’t we stop them at the door and say get out of here, you’re not welcome.”  I think he hit the nail on the head.  We must be intentional with how we live.  I don’t usually put scripture in my blog only because I want you to go interact with Word yourself…recieve it’s power…but today I must put Romans 6 to drive this point home.  I strongly encourage you to read through Romans 5 and 6 at some point today.

Dead to Sin, Alive in Christ

1What shall we say, then? Shall we go on sinning so that grace may increase? 2By no means! We died to sin; how can we live in it any longer? 3Or don’t you know that all of us who were baptized into Christ Jesus were baptized into his death? 4We were therefore buried with him through baptism into death in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead through the glory of the Father, we too may live a new life.

5If we have been united with him like this in his death, we will certainly also be united with him in his resurrection. 6For we know that our old self was crucified with him so that the body of sin might be done away with,[a] that we should no longer be slaves to sin7because anyone who has died has been freed from sin.

8Now if we died with Christ, we believe that we will also live with him.9For we know that since Christ was raised from the dead, he cannot die again; death no longer has mastery over him. 10The death he died, he died to sin once for all; but the life he lives, he lives to God.

11In the same way, count yourselves dead to sin but alive to God in Christ Jesus. 12Therefore do not let sin reign in your mortal body so that you obey its evil desires. 13Do not offer the parts of your body to sin, as instruments of wickedness, but rather offer yourselves to God, as those who have been brought from death to life; and offer the parts of your body to him as instruments of righteousness. 14For sin shall not be your master, because you are not under law, but under grace.

As I read on in Judges, I came to Giedeon and observed how when the Lord called Gideon, Gideon had lost hope because of all the sufferings of his people.  He doubted God was true and put Him to the test.  God allowed this and met his requests, proving himself.  So here’s the question, should I test God.  The answer is no.  In Malachi he does permit testing him, but for a specific purpose of seeing if we can outgive him, this is a challenge to enhance our faith in offering Him all he is worthy of…all we have…all we are, because his blessings far outweigh any of that.  But should we test who He is? Not if we’re believers.

Psalm 9:10
Those who know your name will trust in you, for you, LORD, have never forsaken those who seek you.

Psalm 28:7
The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and I am helped. My heart leaps for joy and I will give thanks to him in song.

Psalm 84:12
O LORD Almighty, blessed is the man who trusts in you.

Isaiah 12:2
Surely God is my salvation; I will trust and not be afraid. The LORD, the LORD, is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation.”

Romans 15:13
May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit

I look at my life and I don’t trust him, not with most of it.  I try to do everything in my power.  I think I can make a difference.  I wanna be important and get recognition.  So I put God to the test, maybe not consciously, but when I don’t trust Him I’m challenging Him…will you STILL be there when I fall?  Do I really need you?

So yesterday as listened to this sweet testimony of someone whose seen the bottom of the barrel and made a decision to never go back there…he says “I just wanna live for God” He doesn’t care about money or anything.  He said something like “If I end up an old man on a park bench, I’ll be happy with that so long as I’m living for Jesus”  How about you?  Would you be happy with that?

God who can measure your mercy?  It’s so vast Lord, the love, the forgiveness, the grace.  I recognize myself as a sinner and at times I don’t want to.  I wanna think I’m above all that, but if that were the case Lord I wouldn’t need you.  But I do need you, and I have you.  Lord I jsut wanna feel you.  I know you’re here, you’re always here, but I wanna feel you.  I wanna feel joy and peace within my soul.  It’s not you, but I who hears the lies and decieves myself to believe that you’re not here when I KNOW you are.  Help me Lord to be better than this.  Help me acknowledge your Spirit within me.  Be my hope Lord, be my only hope.  My soul longs for you.  I feel myself changing.  My desires, my selfish desires are fading and your desires are taking their place and I don’t know why, but it scares me.  Just change as I guess, the thought of something new, I fear, but fear is not of you.  I want to know you God, to know all that you are.  If I know you I can live for you.  Open the eyes of my heart Lord.  May I see all you have laid before me, may I see your hand at work before me setting up the way and may I follow faithfully no fear or hesitation.  I’m trusting you with everything.  Father hear my prayer.  I want to leave the darkness and step fully into the light.

Leave a Reply

